Soccer Mommy – Shotgun

We’re not sure if ‘Shotgun’ was written about a nightmare, toxic relationship situation or if it’s an infatuated love song. Either way, it’s steeped deep with emotion, whether or not it’s joy or pain. And such is the magnificence of Soccer Mommy Sophie Allison’s song writing skill, a record exerting the lyrical prowess of poetic observational lines like “cold beer and ice cream”, “coffee and menthol on your breath”, “your blue eyes like the stars” over tension-building production, uneasy guitar chords and a catchy chorus that won’t stop nagging away in your brain for days.

‘Shotgun’ was dropped alongside the announcement of Soccer Mommy’s third album ‘Sometimes, Forever’ – due out of 24th June 2022 on Loma Vista recordings. Take a peek at the tracklisting below:

  1. Bones
  2. With U
  3. Unholy Affliction
  4. Shotgun
  5. Newdemo
  6. Darkness Forever
  7. Don’t Ask Me
  8. Fire in the Driveway
  9. Following Eyes
  10. Feel It All The Time
  11. Still

Soccer Mommy is also on a UK and Europe-wide tour, starting at Bloomington, Indiana, USA on 7th April 2022 and ending up in Glasgow UK on 24th September 2022. Check out the full tour dates and ticket availability by tapping here.

Take a look at the video for ‘Shotgun’ below:

Published by heyrichey

I like music. In my spare time sometimes I listen to it and then write about the music I've listened to.

Leave a Reply