Sufjan Stevens – Will Anybody Ever Love Me?

You don’t simply listen to Sufjan Stevens. When he’s at the top of his game, hearing a Sufjan Stevens release is a spiritual, nay evangelical experience. And ‘Will Anybody Ever Love Me?’ is the Detroit alt-folk artist at the very top of his game, with all of the finger picked lute and soft, sensitive vocal sighs you could hope for.

Backed with full gospel choir, Stevens conceptualizes unconditional love through having himself sacrificed at the stake in order to find out: “Will anybody love me, for good reasons, without grievance, not for sport?”, ramping up the burning heart religiosity like a man on a mission to have his whole audience baptised in the holy spirit.

Since 2015’s ‘Carrie & Lowell’ the singer-songwriter has put out a stream of collaborations and experimental releases but ‘Will Anybody Ever Love Me?’ and former single ‘So You Are Tired’ suggest his 10th solo LP ‘Javelin’ will see the artist back to his rapturously stirring best.

Sufjan Stevens new album ‘Javelin’ is due for release on 6th October 2023. The track listing is below:

1 – Goodbye Evergreen
2 – Running Start
3 – Will Anybody Ever Love Me?
4 – Everything That Rises
5 – Genuflecting Ghost
6 – My Little Red Fox
7 – So You Are Tired
8 – Javelin (To Have And To Hold)
9 – Shit Talk
10 – There’s A World

You can pre-order a copy of the LP right now.

‘Will Anybody Ever Love Me?’ was released on 13th September 2023, along with a snazzy, out-of-body experience inducing video that you can find below:

Published by heyrichey

I like music. In my spare time sometimes I listen to it and then write about the music I've listened to.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: